Missing You

I’m missing you tonight.  And all the little things we used to do.

I’m stuck inside the memories, leaving a gaping hole inside my heart.  One where you should be.

I’m missing you tonight.  And all the rainy days, the sunny days, the cold and windy lonely days, we spent inside your house at night, eating cereal on the kitchen counter while a light shone in from the living room.

The time we poured coffee through the coffee maker.

The time you lost your gas cap, we drove back to find it.  It had been run over at the stoplight so you had to buy a new one.

Trying on dresses at the department stores, fanticizing glamor for the future.

We said we’d be sisters forever.  Forever came to an end too soon.

And I’m missing you so dearly.  The hole in my heart I can’t ignore much longer.

I’ve cried so many times wishing for your company, but I know those days are gone.

 

We’ve grown up, and you’ve moved on.

Even now, I hope you know I still love you, and I miss you, and I wish you ever so much happiness.  I hope he gives you the joy you need, and I’m sorry I missed out on the good times, the hard times, the most important loving times.  You two went through so much and I was so far away.

Now here I am with two kids.  You’re off to new adventures, new friends and family to join you.

Here in my lonely memories, I still hold onto the times we had even though the memories they make me sad.

I want you to know I’ll always be right here if you ever decided to come back my way.  I know it won’t be the same, those days are long behind us, and the future has no room for two little girls with adventures in their dreams.

I had only ever hoped you’d share those adventures with me.

 

Leave a Reply

