Author Spotlight EH Demeter

ebook cover(1)

Hello everyone, I am E.H. Demeter, and I am so thankful for this opportunity to tell you a little bit about my debut novel, Secrets.
Secrets is the first book of The Rune Trilogy, and follows Juliet Adams on her personal journey of self-discovery and an unexpected adventure that will span oceans and continents.
When I sat down to write Secrets, I didn’t really know where it was going. I started the story off of a writing prompt from a writing group I was in at the time.  The only real thing I knew was that I wanted it set in Oregon, because I miss my home state. Oregon is gorgeous, and has so much to offer. So, I knew Juliet would be from Oregon, and when Marsh, my main male character, came to be, I knew he needed to be Irish. It seemed right.
I also knew I wanted to write a paranormal romance that focused on something other than vampires and werewolves, because I felt they were overdone (even though I love them).

 

Male_selkie_by_Mapvee

What drew me to Selkies was the fact that I had never read a paranormal romance involving them. In fact, when I did my research, I found there wasn’t a whole lot of lore concerning Selkies, aside from the fact that they can shed their seal skins and take on a human shape. I actually liked that there wasn’t a lot of lore, because it left plenty of room for me to create my own. Which is what I did. I choose ancient Celtic lore for the simple fact that I have always been drawn to it. Ireland has always been a magical place for me, a place that you can believe magic exists. When you’re there, it’s like you’re in another time, a fairytale land. The lore is so colorful, it truly is beautiful and magical. And I wanted to impart that into my story.

A--seal.png

I knew from the moment I started Secrets that I wanted to publish it. I wanted it in the world, being read, being enjoyed. It’s been an amazing, and emotional journey to get to this point. The one thing that will never leave me, is that my dad was able to see me reach this accomplishment before he passed away. I made the decision to self-publish Secrets, after a lot of thought and research. There is still a part of me that would love to be picked up by a big name publisher, however, I am a bit of a control freak, so I’m not sure if it would be a good fit or not. I have a Young Adult Fantasy novel that is currently being edited, and I’m thinking about sending it out to publishing houses, just to see what would happen. It can’t hurt, and if I get all no’s, there’s always self-publishing. So, really, it’s a win-win.

Currently, I’m working on a lot. I have sequels to Secrets and Skyfall in the works, as well as revamping a love story I started a few years ago. On top of all of those, I am working on a surprise novella, as well as short stories for anthologies my writing group is putting out. So, suffice it to say, I’m a busy bee. Haha. But I love it. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

 

IMG_9638

 

E. H. Demeter is the mother of two wacky kiddos, and she’s married to the love of her life. She lives in South Carolina, where she loves to hate the heat and miss the rain. She can almost always be found with her nose in a book and a notebook on her person. She writes in every free moment she has, and she’s been writing for as long as she can remember. It’s truly her passion, and she fuels it to the best of her ability.

Secrets, Book One of the Rune Trilogy, is her first book!  Also featured in three anthologies, with promise of more coming, E.H. Demeter is certainly a worthy addition to your bookshelves.

Instagram: @TheDarlingWordsmith
twitter: @EH_Demeter
Leave a Reply

