Letting Go

Last night I decided to drop one of my main characters from my series.

It’s not an easy decision, and frankly I wish I didn’t have to walk that path.

When my best friend of 9 years went her own way, the world we’d built together crashed with her.  An entire family of characters that belonged to her became Taboo, and my character was left an Orphan.  Sure, Farlaquin could have survived happily…  but at my current stage of Life his purpose is no longer necessary.
When a friend mentioned that we outgrow stories, I laughed at the thought.  Until yesterday.

Cutting him is easy.  Why is it so easy?
His existence can fade out of the book, and nobody will ever know who he was.

Rewriting, replotting, and reworking my series has been fun.  I’ve given it a whole new life.  Reading the old books to reap the plot pieces I need has been rewarding– but the new concept looks nothing like the old one.  It will have it’s similarities, but thankfully a great deal more maturity.

One of my characters is asking to go on a Grand adventure.  I just might let him.  In fact, maybe it’s time to let go of the old book and just start over altogether.
The High Prince of Eldegras takes a journey to see the world with his closest of friends.

So many possibilities.
And several hard decisions.

On the bright side, Lasgalad can go, and Celmaruen can have the High Princess.  That sounds like a great deal more fun anyway.

Farlaquin, I loved you deeply.  I’m sorry this has to be the way.  You’ll be back later.  Just not the same.  It’s time you grew to a new potential.  Your story is already coming together in my imagination, and it will be so much greater than it was before.

3 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. Paul Davis says:

    I’m happy to hear all of this. I’m happy to hear your story is growing up to be the story you see it can be now, so many years later, and so many years wiser as a writer.

Leave a Reply

