What’s In A Name?

Pursuits are high these days.
Writing, reading, editing, trying to convince myself I really am a great writer, we all need an editor.

Today I’m really seriously downing myself on those extra twenty baby pounds I need to shake off.  And really, it’s more like 15, but they’re 15 fat and ten muscle…. and we all know how growing muscles plumps out areas that looked flat or thinner before.
Also, I’m trying a natural thyroid supplement.  Hopefully I can kick the insane fatigue and boost my metabolism into torching the fat off.  I’ll let you know in 2 weeks if it’s making a difference.

Meanwhile, I have been arguing near relentlessly with a dear friend, and myself, about changing names in my Fantasy world.  Two of the changes are necessary, and the others I honestly can’t say I’m excited about.
They always say go for a second opinion, so I’m casually asking other people what they think.

You can’t very well sever ties with something you have deeply loved for 16 years, however easy it might be to someone else.  ((For heavensake, his next book is about a land named with five consonents in a row……  two of which are j’s))
It’s like telling one of your beloved teddy bears they can no longer sleep with you, because you don’t like him anymore.  How do you get over that crushing hold the teddy bear has on your heart?  How can you face the others knowing their best friend has been stuffingly wounded?

It’s not that the names I have picked are frightfully awful.  Or even hard to understand.  It’s High Fantasy.  I’m not going to name an Elf David, or Paul, or Greg.  I’m going to name them with something elegant and Fantasy like.  Farelinion, or Elinduil.
I’m not going to name a town Greenville or Masterson, I’m going to name it Frëshcârré.  ((Free-shkhar-rey, trill the r’s a touch))

………I know.  It’s mind boggling.
Leave your opinion in the comments!  I’d love to open the discussion platform.

2 thoughts on “What’s In A Name?

  1. J.P. says:

    I’ve done name changes myself. One of which was heartbreaking. The name to me is everything, it’s how we first create the character. They in turn, become our child. So your character is pretty much like a son or a daughter and now an editor or friend is saying change it, so it’s like someone telling you to rename your child. It can be difficult. After the hurt of hearing it wears off, sometime the cooler mind makes you realize that they’re right. Get upset if it helps, get angry, hell, cry if you want. Face the choice to make changes after you’ve had a clear mind. You’ll find the right thing to do. 🙂

    • It’s terribly unfortunate to have to rename characters. I have a band of brothers, two of which aren’t my original characters. If I published them with their original names, my ex-bestfriend might sue.
      That’s extremely convincing a reason to change two character names. Well— most of the family come to think of it :/

Leave a Reply

