What’s the deal with fantasy?

What is the deal with Fantasy 😉

SpyKeyOne

I’m in a writing group with a lot of writers, and lovely people, a great many of whom write what is loosely termed as ‘Fantasy’.

I only say ‘loosely’ because it’s a very generic term. Vampires, werewolves, elves, dragons and the ilk. Alternate worlds/realities, magic swords, princes and princes etc etc.

And I thought to myself. Do I really have that much in common with these people?

The answer is yes.

I scanned my DVD and book collections (And comics and graphic novels and, dare I say it, toys) – Lord of the Rings, Blade, Underworld, American Werewolf and, of course, superheroes to name but a few. I could go on and on.

Oops.

So why? What IS the deal with fantasy?

Definition of fantasy in English:

noun (plural fantasies)

[MASS NOUN] The faculty or activity of imagining impossible or improbable things:

Fair enough. – But what’s the fascination?

View original post 81 more words

Leave a Reply

