Author Introduction: Tyler Omichinski

Tyler Omichinski and I met through a writing group known as Den Of Quills on Facebook.
He is featured in our upcoming Anthology, Den Of Thieves, and is personally publishing our NEXT anthology to be released in time for Autumn 2015.
With upcoming releases of his own, I now turn it over to him!

Tyler Omichinski

I am a somewhat experienced writer and freelancer, whatever that means.

My background is in law, politics, and policy, and I tend to dabble and be involved in stuff like that still. I dream of someday being able to make it just writing and doing essentially just what I want to do.

I’m about to release a couple of short stories as ebooks on Amazon. I’ve seen how webcomics, RPGs, and a number of other industries have gone with how they changed their business model, and now in the latest Writer’s Digest, at the time of writing, they are talking about a number of writers having success releasing their short stories online. There’s been a lot of other signs about it being a good call, so I’m releasing a few short stories that people have loved but haven’t been able to otherwise find homes to Amazon to see how they do.

I’m starting with two main pieces; Drop Out and From the Desk of Elizabeth Cooper. Drop Out is the second in a series of short stories that I’m writing about the future of humanity and how it seems to me that things will shake out as a result of us trying to become a post-needs society and deal with the environmental problems that we’re starting to face. From the Desk of Elizabeth Cooper is written as a found document and is vaguely cosmic horror. It is an attempt to modernize and follow Lovecraft, but applying modern corporations and laws to show how strange and alien these artificial creations really are. It feels unsettling and alien.

Currently I’m trying to put together a few different things. I have a novel that is nearly half done that I’m hoping to be shopping around to agents by the end of the year. I have released some teasers and early bits on my own website. I’m also doing my freelance thing, including a lot of writing for RPG companies. Finally, I’m involved with a publishing company here in Canada that is looking at doing some things with James Bond now that he’s off of copyright here in Canada.

My short stories will be out soon at my Amazon page, and I have a few pieces that I’m already featured in but you can see most of my portfolio at my own website.

Tyler has been writing for games companies for a few months, sent a number of short stories out into the wild, and regularly slings copy to keep him in coffee. He lives with a gigantic black dog named after Lord Byron who lives up to the name, and a badass editor of a fiancé. At some point he will likely have to get back into the day job game, but for the time being he’s wrangling with words and fighting them into submission.

Leave a Reply

