Writing Tips

Everyone wonders how to become a better writer.

A faster writer.

A deeper writer.

Able to work against deadlines.

I do not possess the answers to these questions, looking for them myself.

BUT I do happen to have a few ideas to help you become a faster writer.

1. Type Songs As They Play

When I was learning to type, and trying to reach at least 80WPM, I started typing to lyrics.  Yes, song lyrics.

Not only did this help speed up my dictatorial typing skills, it also helped me learn to type as I thought.

2. Challenge Other Writer Friends

I have a serious competitive nature.  When a friend of mine started challenging the rest of us to 500 word races, I started to learn how to write things quickly, and put them directly from my imagination onto the page.  I can produce 500 words in 15 minutes.  Once, during a 5 minute race, I produced 211 words.  Legible, and workable words.

3. Write To Get It Right The First Time

Everyone of us will produce more than one draft.  That’s just going to happen.  But, if we write in such a way that we are determined to publish the first draft, we’re going to write it to the best of our ability.  Always remember that you’re going to edit and rework scenes along the way anyway.

The only problem with getting it right the first time, would be those personalities that will edit the first chapter, over and over, and never finish the rest of the book.  If this is you, JUST FINISH THE BOOK.  Then you can work on it.  Get your idea out, and the rest will follow.  Writing it is the first step, so for heaven sake, don’t stop for anything.  Just write it.  Even the greatest of authors struggle with their first draft.  The books on the shelves aren’t Great until they’ve passed through the hands of editors.

So get off of WordPress, and go finish that project you started.  The world needs your book, now write it.

Leave a Reply

